PDA

View Full Version : One course of block

Burt
08-01-2008, 11:34 AM
Hello All,

Novice here. I have helped friends over the years frame their cabins and garages but have never laid any brick.

I am building a garage. I am having a concrete slab poured by a contractor but I am planning on doing the rest of the work myself (with friends).

I need to lay one course of cinder block which my sill plate will rest on. First can a novice to this? Seems like a fairly straight forward project ... basically making sure everything stays level.

Do I need to anchor this one course of block to the slab? If yes, how is this done? Drill holes ... place rebar ... secure with cement (or epoxy?) ... set bricks ... fill brick cavity with concrete? How many feet per anchor? (the garage is 36'x24')

Also, I will be using 2x4 studs, what size cinder blocks should I use? Should I use the standard 8dx8hx16w or 6dx8hx16w?

Thanks for your advice.

Burt

Richard A Hetzel
08-01-2008, 12:57 PM